Meet the board

Maddie Dery
Lauffenburger Group

Maddie joined the GWiChE board in 2019 as one of the Networking Chairs and stepped up to the role of President in 2021. Maddie’s research in the Lauffenburger Lab focuses on translating the results from vaccination trials in non-human primate models to humans through the analysis of Fc-mediated antibody effector functions. She is also a member of Graduate Students for a Healthy MIT, the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee of the Graduate Student Council, the ChemE DEI Committee, Diversity and Inclusion in ChemE, and founder of the Chemical Engineering Application Mentorship Program.

Kara Rodby
Co-Founder and Former President
Brushett Group

Kara co-founded of the GWiChE group with Lisa Volpatti in 2018. Kara had a difficult transition into the program during her first year, in part due to the very drastic disparity in representation of women as compared to her undergraduate program. In response to this experience, she sought to create a group where women could be connected and support each other. Kara does techno-economic informed modeling and design of redox flow batteries in the Brushett lab. She has also served on the Graduate Student Advisory Board, MIT’s Committee on Sexual Misconduct Prevention and Response, and is a leader of the Reject Injustice Through Student Empowerment (RISE) Campaign.

Kelsey Reed
Vice President
Swan Group

Kelsey joined the GWiChE board in 2019 as the treasurer for the group and stepped up to the role of vice president in 2021. She enjoys helping with event planning and meeting other womxn in engineering at MIT. In addition to GWiChE, she also serves as a department representative for Chemical Engineering within GW@MIT. Kelsey is in the Swan group where she uses theory and simulations to study nanoemulsions in applied magnetic fields.

Jennifer Kaczmarek
Prather Group

Jennifer joined the board in 2019 as the secretary. She also serves as a department representative for the Graduate Student Council (GSC). In the Prather lab, her research focuses on the development of biosensors and enzyme evolution for increased glucaric acid production in E. coli.

Narumi Wong
Tisdale-Baldo Group

Narumi joined the GWiChE board in 2020 as a treasurer for the group. She is passionate about womxn in STEM and enjoys getting to meet and talk to people who share the same interests. Narumi is a member of both the Tisdale and Baldo Labs where she works on studying interfaces in solar cells.

Yining (Lynn) Hao
Education chair
Sikes Group

Lynn joined GWiChE as Education co-chair in 2019. She helps in organizing GWiChE events with an educational focus. She is passionate about creating a comfortable environment for womxn in the department and help them feel supported. In the Sikes Lab, she studies the cells’ response to redox perturbation.

Tam Nguyen
Education chair
Braatz Group

Tam joined the GWiChE board in 2019 as co-educational chair. She helps with organizing educational workshops tailored to support female graduate students. She is passionate about mental and physical well-being of womxn specifically. Tam is a member of the Braatz group with her research on process development and optimization for gene therapy manufacturing.

Katherine Steinberg
Networking chair
Manthiram Group

Katie joined the board in 2020 as a networking chair. She is looking forward to helping to organize events that bring womxn in STEM together from both in and outside of the department. She is a member of the Manthiram lab, where she studies electrochemical nitrogen fixation for more sustainable ammonia production.

Kaylee McCormack Support Chair
Roman Group

Kaylee joined the board in 2020 as a support chair. She looks forward to developing worthwhile programming and events that facilitate interaction and cooperation between womxn in ChemE. Currently, she is also a member of GSC-X. In the Roman Lab, she works on the development of novel core-shell electrocatalysts toward fuel cell applications.

Haley Beech
Support Chair, Webmaster
Olsen Group

Haley joined the board in 2020 as support chair.  She is excited to help plan events to facilitate more frequent interactions and support between womxn across the department.  Currently, she is also a member of GSC-X and the organizer for the NetPals outreach program. In the Olsen group, she studies the relationship between topology and properties in polymer networks to better inform new material design.

Sarah Cowles
Support Chair, Webmaster
Wittrup Group

Sarah joined the GWIChE Board in 2020 as a co-webmaster. She helped develop the first GWiChE website and currently helps run and maintain it. Sarah is also involved with Graduate Students for a Healthy MIT, a campaign advocating for improved access to mental health resources and broader administrative change to address systemic causes. In the Wittrup lab, Sarah’s research utilizes antibody engineering to understand the mechanisms of cancer immune checkpoint blockade therapy.

Katharina Fransen
Support Chair
Olsen Group

Kat joined the board in 2021 as a support chair. She was involved in SWE in undergrad, and developed an interest in supporting women and gender diverse people in STEM. She looks forward to helping to continue to improve the support and environment for womxn in the department. In the Olsen Lab, she works on developing sustainable materials and furthering structure-property relationships in polymers.

Past Officers:

Lisa Volpatti, Anderson Lab, Co-Founder & President 2018-2019

Junli Hao, Rutledge Group, Vice President 2019-2021

Katharine Greco, Brushett Group, Networking Chair 2019-2021

Stephanie Kong, Hammond Group, Networking Chair 2019-2021

Maylin Howard, Hammond Group, Webmaster 2020-2021

%d bloggers like this: